White Chili

I love Chili but I always make the same kind.  I know there are millions of recipes but I never get around to trying them.  So when I found this one on my friend April’s blog– I couldn’t resist.   This recipe had a little kick to it which I didn’t expect.  You could easily adjust it though to suit your needs.


(forgive the picture it was done on my phone)

Ingredients

  • 1 tablespoon vegetable oil
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 3 cloves garlic, crushed
  • 1 (4 ounce) can diced jalapeno peppers
  • 1 (4 ounce) can chopped green chile peppers
  • 2 teaspoons ground cumin
  • 1 teaspoon dried oregano
  • 1 teaspoon ground cayenne pepper
  • 2 (14.5 ounce) cans chicken broth
  • 3 cups chopped cooked chicken breast
  • 3 (15 ounce) cans white beans
  • 1 cup shredded Monterey Jack cheese

Directions

  1. Heat the oil in a large saucepan over medium-low heat. Slowly cook and stir the onion until tender. Mix in the garlic, jalapeno, green chile peppers, cumin, oregano and cayenne. Continue to cook and stir the mixture until tender, about 3 minutes. Mix in the chicken broth, chicken and white beans. Simmer 15 -30 minutes, stirring occasionally.  Remove the mixture from heat. Slowly stir in the cheese until melted. Serve warm. I also added about a tablespoon of fresh salsa to mine as April suggested.  

Enjoy!!

4 thoughts on “White Chili

  1. ♪ Beans, beans the musical fruit
    The more you eat
    The more you toot ♪♫

    … and thats why I am not a bean fan. HAHA. But T loves beans and chili. Maybe I’ll have to give this a try for him on a cold night this winter. 🙂
    /Clara

Leave a Reply

